top of page

THE POWER OF WORDS

Updated: Dec 9, 2021



Do you really understand the power of your words?


What are you trying to convey in your conversation with others? The words we use in our everyday talk may be taken lightly, but each word can have unintended consequences when the other person has a different definition of the word you are trying to use. Defining the meaning of a word before using it may help by using the correct word, making a huge impact in your statement.


WORDS HAVE LIFE


“Are you slow to speak and quick to listen?" When making a speech or engaging someone new for the first time, proper use of words can be lasting. Positive words, strong words, impactful words, and intentional words can come off with purpose. When using a negative word, these can affect individuals in a negative way. If you aim to lead your team, look to use positive words. Try not to use words that tear your team down. Words of encouragement can last forever. Believe it or not, we are judged by people of the words we use. When crafting your speech, emails, and conversations, use words that can effect positive change.


IMPACT OF POSITIVE WORDS


It came across as arrogant. It came off as cocky, but the intention of the statement was to invoke confidence. I heard Tim King said, "Damn right I can do that." I brushed it off and said to myself, no he cannot. Well, you know what happen, he was able to do what he said he could do. I watched this man for six months. I listen to how he stood and spoke with confidence. I looked to him as a true leader. Two years later after we were promoted twice, Tim and I sat in a conference room for a manager meeting. Tim whispered to me, "Watch what he says, and see if you believe him. The next speaker to take the floor was an asset protection leader. He used words like guess, maybe, and sometimes. Tim was right, I could not believe the words that were coming out of his mouth. Tim went up to speak next. He topic was about leadership development. As Tim spoke, he used words that were absolute, strong understood words like will, must, can, and never. I believed every word he said, and I knew he would accomplish everything he said he would. Tim later told me, "If you believe what you say, others will believe what you say." " So, if you say you're the best, then others will believe you're the best." Before this meeting with Tim, I believe you have what you say, but never did I see it in practice with other people.

AFFECTING OTHERS WITH YOUR WORDS


“YOU ARE SNARED BY YOUR WORDS.”

After spending time with Tim during this time of our career, I realized he was truly a leader. He did have a great impact on me when we first started working two years earlier, but after this meeting, I was hung up on every word I would say, realizing that my words would take root in someone else's mind and live there, whether positive or negative. I needed to watch the words that came out of my mouth. Today I may be slow to respond, and I may try to sound optimistic all the time, but as I seek to lead others, I choose my words carefully while managing my emotions at that very moment of my speaking.




44 views0 comments
bottom of page